Announcing the 2022 Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program Awardees

The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022-2023 award of a year-long rent-free studio space in DUMBO, Brooklyn.

The recipients for 2022 are aricoco (Ari Tabei), David Atkin, Jeane Cohen, Avram Finkelstein, Jim Gaylord, Yasi Ghanbari, William Kohler, Janice Nowinski, Maia Cruz Palileo, Martha Poggioli, Erin Riley, Kathia St. Hilaire, Jonathan Torres, Grace Sachi Troxell, Margaux Valengin, Naeem Mohaiemen, Cherrie Yu.

2022 Phillip Pearlstein Painter 

David Atkin is the recipient of the 2022 Philip Pearlstein Painter accolade. A dedicated member of the Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program Artist Advisory Committee, Philip Pearlstein co-founded the Marie Walsh Sharpe Space Program (now known as the Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program) in 1991 alongside Chuck Close, Janet Fish, Irving Sandler, and Robert Storr. Ronald Hall was the first recipient of this distinction in 2021, which will identify an outstanding representational painter and ensure that a non-abstract painter be awarded a residency annually in recognition of Pearlstein’s ongoing commitment to referential art.